Getting Quotes

8 Replies

Hi everyone, I am a newbie in house flipping. I am wondering if I can have 3-4 contractors to go to the properties at the same time to see and give me an estimate or quote or I should schedule with them one on one. I have a full time job plus 2 little kids, so time is a bit tight. The house just closed today. I need to get it start rehab asap. Thank you in advance for your input.

First off, you should have gotten quotes for all the items BEFORE you closed escrow, why waste all that time! Secondly, I don't think it is appropriate to have multiple people there quoting the same job at the same time. How can you possibly give each person the one on one time to explain what you want, what you need, and when you need it. I have no problems letting them know they will be competing with another contractor or two, but having them all there at once is too cumbersome and if i were the contractor, would consider it rude.

If you have a full time job, I suggest you get a project manager on your team who can be there with all the contractors and sub contractors making sure all is being done right, done on time, and done in the proper order. Time is your enemy on a flip so make sure you save as much time as possible, they often means spending extra on a project manager if that can not be YOU. That extra costs will likely save you money over the entire flip if the project manager is good enough.

Being a contractor, I consider it tacky when people do that... so tacky that I will, in fact, turn on my heel and leave. 

I may see things that the other contractors wouldn't. I may have solutions that they don't. I may not feel like sharing those things with the other contractors - only with the client. Or I may have a dramatically different approach to the project that I'd like some of your undivided attention to tell you about.

Thank you William and Aaron for your advice. I totally agree with you I should have the quote beforehand. 

Aly