Insurance for flips

8 Replies

Hi all,

I am relatively new to flips and wondering how others insure their flip properties during rehab process.

Currently I am using "high risk" policies from Loyds of Londons.

For the property apprised at $150 K they quote me about $1100 for a year.

So for 6 month which I hold the property I pay $550 is it normal ?

Other people I know use some cheaper options from Erie, which end up around $500 a year.

However my agent says that Erie does cover empty properties so if something happens they will not pay.

Please let me know if somebody knows cheaper way to insure flip properties.

Thanks, Alexi 

The claims frequency for homes under construction is very high. I recommend combining a vacant property policy and a builders risk policy to avoid gaps in coverage but that will increase your costs.

@Alexi Polenur Unfortunately to cost to insure a vacant property is astronomical. Ive shopped around quite a bit and Ive been unsuccessful in getting a good quote. It does make sense if yo consider it from their end.  This is going to be a short term policy that will be cancelled pretty quickly, so in order for them to recoup basic fixed expenses, the policy needs to have more built in fees. Add to that the higher liability if something brakes and no one knows for two weeks like a water leak etc.

Medium logo lf re cire box white bboxRussell Brazil, Associate Broker w/ Long & Foster | [email protected] | (301) 893‑4635 | http://www.RussellBrazil.com | MD Agent # 648402, DC Agent # SP98375353, VA Agent # 0225219736, MA Agent # 9052346 | Podcast Guest on Show #192

I use Vacant Home Insurance from Foremost (you can search the company name on BiggerPockets) for my flips. I get it through my local Farmers Insurance agent and my agent knows that extensive renovations will be taking place.