Wholesaling

6 Replies

hello bp. I have currently been doing much research and been learning great things here about wholesaling and all types of investing. I thought I would get some input today about a few questions I had related to wholesaling. Let's say I am a buyer, and I have my own cash (say $80,000) and I am looking to do quick flips with this money by buying the property at a discount in cash, and selling it retail. Now this is what I'm curious to know, if I am a licensed agent, can I pay cash and immediately market the property as is, for full retail? It would be a double close but without the necessity of having an end buyer to cover funds since I would have it already paid in cash. Would banks have any issue lending conventionally to a buyer? There would be the quickest convenience for the seller being that I have my own money and it would also save money on the end of marketing to property if I am not mistaken? Wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this. I know people have mentioned that banks require sometimes a certain period of time for the seller to own a property before they will buy it also, is this true? Thanks!

@Jordan Freeman , most of your rhetorical question seems to revolve around "if I am a licensed agent, can I pay cash and immediately market the property as is, for full retail"?

The short answer is "yes", (provided that you DISCLOSE to the Seller your status and intention - which is every Agent's fiduciary duty). Go get that License! [Not legal advice].

As for who will be able to buy it off you, and what type of mortgage they qualify for, each potential Buyer and subsequent Lender will have their own story to tell. Others might pipe in about that. Cheers...

Updated over 2 years ago

Proviso: So long as you as a Licensed Wholesaler ensure that your Seller is at least as well off after closing as if they had arranged the property to be listed, I have no objection.

Hi @Jordan Freeman ,