Mold

18 Replies

We are pursuing a property that is very distressed, but in a great neighborhood.  I have not been inside yet, but know that the roof is bad/leaks, and we can see black mold on the windows from the sidewalk. 

If we use a profession mold removal company (and have air quality test done) do we still need disclose the mold issue on the disclosure statement?

@Patrice B.  Hi Patrice, yes you will still need to disclose the mold on your sellers disclosure because it was there and then remediated While you owned the property. Although I have seen people not disclose It many times, it is the law and the ethical thing to do. The neighbors Know the house has mold, lets Say you do not disclose it and mr and mrs neighbor are talking to your buyer one day and asks about "all that mold" then your placed in a difficult situation. Get it taken care of correctly, get a passing post remediation or clearance test and save all that paperwork and move on.   I am a General manager for a Mold removal and remediation company in St Louis so if you have any specific questions please let me know.   Travis

@travisboyer thank you for your response.  We never had the intention to not disclose and we will have it taken care of by professionals.  We were hearing contradicting advice and wanted to make sure we do things legal and ethically.  

If indeed, the mold is throughout the house we re being quoted about 30K to remove it from a 1500 sqft home. 

I appreciate your input. 

Thanks, again! 

@Patrice B. 30k Seems extremely high to me. My crew is currently working on a 2500sq ft house, full gut to studs of the basement, gutting half the main level to studs and gutting 2 rooms upstairs removing All carpet in the house and im  doing that for $7,900   What area of Illinois are you in? 

@Patrice Boenzi , once you remediate it, it becomes a non-issue, meaning it is no longer an actual problem. However, it is in your best interest to disclose all past issues.