Skip to content
Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Jacob Wyatt
  • Seattle, WA
Votes |
Seattle WA Contractors and Flippers... Please help!

Jacob Wyatt
  • Seattle, WA
Posted Feb 28 2017, 23:18

Hello BP community,

I just bought my first house that I will be house hacking. It is a SFH zoned LR2 in the Morgan Street Junction in West Seattle. It currently has a half unfinished basement and half crawlspace. My vision is to convert the downstairs to a nice basement apartment and I would greatly appreciate your help!

Getting going on my first project, it seems daunting. Especially with Seattle's extensive permitting process and never having done a project before. I want to keep everything legal and would prefer to contract out a good portion of the work and do a good amount of the work myself (I worked in construction from the age of 17-21) instead of hiring a general contractor, although my mind could be swayed because I do love the idea of having this project completed ASAP. A few questions about getting started... Please, pardon my ridiculous questions... I can't wait to learn a ton on this project:

1) What are my first step in getting started with this project (in terms of beginning the process to permit it/setting up construction)?

2) Do I need an architect to draw up the plans for my basement or will drawings I do myself suffice? 

3) Does anyone have connections or had a great experience with a concrete/mini excavation company that would be able to complete the downstairs by digging out the crawl space (about 450 sqft), chipping up the current 500 sqft slab, and pouring a new 950 sqft slab, in the greater Seattle area? I have considered doing the digging myself but just don't think it would be worth my time. Plus with all the beams under my home and posts to support those beams, a crew would be able to better complete this task, I am sure.