How Many Flips Per Year is Attainable?

23 Replies

I have been investing in multifamily real estate for about 8 years and have built up a decently sized portfolio of rental units large enough that it is my full time gig.  Every property we have ever purchased has been distressed (mostly or fully vacant, in need of renovation, shortsales, foreclosures, auction properties, etc), and my crew of maintenance/reno guys are accustomed to doing mostly everything to get a unit finished and rent ready.  Recently, we began to do some flips, which is not something we have ever really done before as we typically buy and hold.  In 2017, we have bought and sold 4 flips, have one under contract, have one currently listed for sale, 2 getting ready to list for sale this week, 2 more under renovation and waiting for rough inspections, and another 4 under contract to purchase by the end of November.  So far the management of all of these renovations hasn't been too terrible, and aside from the pain of having to comply to repairs following a buyer's home inspection, the sales process has not been very difficult.  I am planning ahead for 2018 and am curious to know what everyone thinks is an attainable number of flips to complete in a year.  How many have you heard of someone completing in 12 months?  How many have you all completed in a years time?

I just met Owen D. at a recent meetup. He is an Omaha area investor. He has done 24 flips in 2017. Pretty impressive.

I've done 40 per year working about 10 hours/week, with two full-time employees.  I imagine working full-time, I could probably do about 100 per year if deal flow and cash wasn't an issue.  

I know several other rehabbers who are actively doing 100+ per year...

@J Scott what kind of renovations do your average flips require?  I am assuming you're using subcontractors for just about everything?  What do your full time employees do?  I am trying to figure out how to scale efficiently.

Originally posted by @Joe C :