Flipping Manufactured Home

15 Replies

I am brand new to investing and have a question about comps. So I found a 2 bed/2 bath house on an acre of land. There is a place I found where I can put a 3 bedroom (1500 square feet). Cabinets can stay but it needs new flooring, paint, landscaping, and bathrooms. It is a foreclosure and price dropped to 30K. Comps for 3/2 in the area are between 150 and 200, but it is a manufactured home and I can’t find any other manufactured homes that have sold recently in that town. I have to go a town over to find one. Is there a way to comp a manufactured home to a regular home?

@JOHN DALEY

The mobile home has to meet certain criteria for this to happen. If it's still on wheels, then you probably won't be able to comp it to a traditional 3/2 bathroom home. But if it's on a foundation than you probably can compare it to 3/2 baths in the area since it would be considered permanent housing and an insurable mortgage can be taken out on it. 

So does this mobile home have a vehicle title? Or does it have a deed to the land? It has to have a matching title for whatever you're comparing it to.

It does have the deed to the land. It also looks like it is on a foundation in the pictures. I honestly didn’t even know it was it was a manufactured home until it said so in the description. I plan on going out there this weekend. It also has a built screen porch with stairs and a ramp and looks like it has been there for a while.

Originally posted by @JOHN DALEY :