Flipping Long Distance

12 Replies

I am a new agent in Santa Barbara and want to flip properties. It's not going to happen here, or anywhere on the west coast, where the medium price for a dump is $900,000. Yet, BP Pod-caster, Brandon Turner, promulgates jumping in right away and not letting fear/lack of money stop you. All the wise and experienced investors I've read advise the opposite - don't flip remotely! So, I see no other (smart) choice but to go outside my area, and have decided to live in an RV and flip houses in other areas. In other words, become a gypsy flipper. Has anyone lived in an RV, traveling from area-to-area, building competent teams and flipping with O.P.M, (Other Peoples Money)? 

Sounds like a great concept for a reality show on HGTV! You should pitch that to them and other DIY channels and or producers.

There are always deals in every market. There may not be a bunch but if you’re consistent in your marketing and making offers you will find deals.

That being said  you can absolutely flip remotely if you know what you’re doing but you need to have a solid team in place where you are flipping. I do this all up and down the southeast US but I am very experienced and have done hundreds of projects. 

Thanks Greg,

LOL! You and I think alike. As a pro dancer (also) I would be a good choice for an HGTV show, having lived my life as an entertainer - (want to be my agent?), so maybe I'll do this once I start actually flipping!

Meanwhile, I would prefer to stay here and work in my own back yard, but, cannot find a property in SB with an ARV that makes sense. I'm going to keep trying, but, at some point I have to start and get going! Your encouragement is appreciated:)

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor
Originally posted by @Alexandra King: