Can you BRRRR into an LLC?

42 Replies

I keep hearing and reading that moving a house into an LLC can trigger a "due on sale" clause of a typical mortgage. I got to wondering, what if I buy a house for a BRRRR strategy directly into an LLC with cash? Would a bank then loan the money to that LLC for the refi?

It seems like that would be an easy way to get homes into an LLC without risking the banking coming for its loan, but I'm a complete newbie, so I don't know what I don't know.

Thanks for any advice!

With an llc you can not get conventional 30 year terms.  You Can, as of about two years ago, get a Fannie loan in your personal name, then transfer into a single member llc with No due on sale risks, perfectly okay and allowed by Fannie.

@Wayne Brooks, if an LLC can't get conventional 30 year terms, then how are people doing all this?  Do you think most of the houses are held in individual's names?  How can one do the BRRRR method?  Have no idea about Fannie loan  - newbie year.  Can direct me to best places for learning about Fannie loan?  Thanking you for your replyl

You can purchase the property and get the loan in your name, then quit claim it over to your LLC after closing. I've heard you can also get the loan in your name and then at closing you can sign the property into the name of the LLC but I haven't personally done that yet.

@Kimberly Kirby Fannie Mae loans are the most popular loan out there...a “conventional loan”.  Fannie Mae is the quasi governmental agency that buys the loans from wherever you get it....a bank, mtg broker, etc.  It’s likely the loan you would get without asking, if you weren’t doing an fha or va loan.

@Wayne Brooks

Thanks for your reply! Did I read somewhere that the downside to a Fannie/Freddie loan is that you have to pay PMI for the life of the loan?

Been learning so much in such a short amount of time it’s all kind of a blur right now. :)