Should I put a down payment down on a subcontractor?

30 Replies

We recently bought our first flip and began to get estimates. One of the subs needed is a chimney repairman/tech. He recently gave an estimate for $6500 and wants $2500 down and the balance upon completion. Is it usual to require this much down, up front?

@Christine Krizenesky

Be careful there.  Not really.  Of course the contractors on these forums will tell you, yes.  But, no.  I wouldn't do that.  Offer to pay them out on day 1 or 2 when they hit a milestone goal.  If they can't afford to work for one day then you don't want to be working with them.

No, most definitely not. The materials costs of chimney repair are minimal. This guy does not need to go out and buy a ton of expensive supplies to fix your chimney, which is why he would want that kind of money upfront. I'd walk away from this.

You will hear " never pay a deposit "  . And as a contractor I always get a deposit when I sign a contract , if the customer doesnt want to , I will then thank you for your time and move on to the next job.  

@Christine Krizenesky

Yes good contractors will ask for a down payment. Would you yourself buy any materials for a job with your own money only to show up and the customer got someone else to do the work?

If you are unfamiliar with what goes into repairing the chimney, ask the contractor for a detailed estimate. All materials and labor each on its own line. If they are willing to show you what's going into the project so you understand, then you have a contractor that cares about their customer.

Originally posted by @Matthew Paul :

You will hear " never pay a deposit "  . And as a contractor I always get a deposit when I sign a contract , if the customer doesnt want to , I will then thank you for your time and move on to the next job.