What’s your #1 MOST USEFUL tip, for minimizing risk on flips?

13 Replies

Is it all in creating a margin of error and a really good deal? What are the best way to do that? Is it other things outside of the “numbers”?

I am a first time flipper and I am very confident in what I would like to do, but I am still scared shitless at the idea of beginning and making the stupidest mistake. I intend on private financing and using my friends and families money to help fund, and I would hate to displace they’re trust.

In other words, what would be the most useful tip you would tell your first time flipping self from the past?

Thank you!

@Nnamdi Okwerekwu It's good to be scared because using other people's money creates a big responsibility to do right by them...just don't let that fear paralyze you. In the interest of full disclosure, I have never flipped a property but I have some BRRRR experience. However, my advice to you would be to underwrite very conservatively and choose a property that would cash flow as a buy-and-hold in the event the numbers no longer work at the end of your flip. This would give you a second exit strategy. In addition, I'd discuss this option up front with whomever is lending you money to make sure they are on board with having their money tied up for longer than expected in the event you cannot flip it.