First time Flipper/investor

19 Replies

Hi All,

I am a Realtor. Been in the business only 6 months but finding success already. I am looking to buy my first condo in November which will also be an investment. I am wanting to live there while I flip it. I can be a minimalist so I have no fear of living through it. I am in Chicago and wanting to start with a condo and focus on cosmetic renovations for my first flip. I have found some properties and ran comps to see what I could resell for. I am new to this but wanted to be in RE investing for years now. Any advice would be much appreciated. 

@Ellyn Cook , sounds like a great plan.  Since you're occupying the property, you can legally obtain conventional financing.  However, know that if you sell the property within 1-year of purchasing it, you'll likely end up on a 'mortgage lending radar' and have some explaining to do on future loan requests.  Lenders watch for this activity to flush out folks who represent a property to be a primary residence rather than the traditional fix/flip investment it really is.  

Keep in mind the fact that you can only sell 1 primary residence every 2 years at reduced or zero tax liability on the gain (under current federal tax laws).  Plan accordingly. 

Last, but not least - be mindful of the HOA rules for renovations. Be sure to coordinate renovations in accordance with the HOA management company. If you have to do any major work that disturbs drywall, be sure to test for asbestos (if applicable). I can share real stories about investors who were hit with $30k+ liens from the HOA for 'environmental cleanup' due to alleged asbestos release. It's not worth the risk - especially since you'll be living there!

@Ellyn Cook - Sounds like you are already on the right path! Search properties, estimate rehab, run ARV, rent/sell......

Is your plan to live there for two years to avoid capital gains?  Or are you looking to hold the property afterward as a rental?