Kansas City, MO - starting out

6 Replies | Kansas City, Kansas

Hi Everyone,

My name is Idan, and I am new to real estate investing. Did my research and decided to invest in Kansas city, MO.

My plan is to start out by purchasing SFHs, in a C class (and above) areas with a budget of 60K-80K (All in) and continue with that tactic after completing the first deal safely.

Does anyone have some tips for me?

1. Any special or unusual RE rules that I should be aware of, for Kansas city/ MO ?
  2. What are the best neighborhoods to invest in for buy&hold?
  3. What are the worst areas that I should stay away from ?
  4. I found this info https://www.roadsnacks.net/worst-neighborhoods-in-kansas-city-mo/ , would you consider it correct?

Thank you for your help!

Idan

Hi!

@Idan Narotzki  You live in a good place to invest.  Learn your city and understand the different areas.

1. Check your local city’s websites for each locales requirements for landlords and rentals.

2. Wherever you can learn, know, understand, and make money.

3. The urban core is rough.  However, it can vary from block to block. There  are plenty of C and D areas there.  I have found that the Trulia crime map more or less shows the really bad areas.  There are plenty of challenges being an investor in these areas and not everyone can handle it.  You need a very good knowledge of the areas and where you must stay away from, and, you need a very good property manager with experience in theses areas.

4. Pretty much. Although, see #3 above.

This all said, you might look in the Independence-Raytown-Grandview-Belton areas.  With some effort, you can find some deals in you price range.  Another tip would be understand how property taxes can vary between municipalities, that will affect your bottom line.

Good luck!