First income property

12 Replies

Hi All,

I am a new investor in the Grand Rapids area looking to get started with a rental property. I would like to have a property manager handle most of the logistics.  I am also looking for a real estate agent to help find a property that will work best for me. Any recommendations for property managers or real estate agents in the area? Any general advice about the Grand Rapids, MI real estate market would be much appreciated as well.

Hi Ben, 
I'm in the beginning stages too soaking up as much info as possible. Don't have much general Grand Rapids advice yet but I have come across someone who recommended @Tim VandenToorn as a property manager. I have not worked with him yet personally as I'm not at that point (got to buy something first!) but figured I'd plug him to connect you both.

@Ben E. Welcome to BP! I am a Realtor that works with several investors on finding rental properties in Grand Rapids. I also happen to have great connections with a property manager (same as the person above) that can take care of everything. Reach out if you want to meet up some time. 

Thanks Jay & Jake

So far I have meetings setup with QWEST Property Management and Compass Real Estate / Property management services. They also looked like good potential candidates.

Hello Ben! I know this is old, but wondering how everything went for you! I'm a new investor in Grand Rapids - still looking for the right place. How has your experience been? Thanks a ton! :)

Hi Christine,

I apologize it has been a while since I have checked my bigger pockets account. I did end up acquiring a rental property on the NW site of Grand Rapids. My property manager is Jon from Simple home Management (http://simplehomemanagement.com). I have also built a network of real estate professionals and trusted contractors. if your interested in finding a real estate agent or you are looking for a contractor to do some work on a property let me know.    

Hi Ben,