Investing in West Michigan

17 Replies

Hi all, first post here. My wife and I are looking at buying investment property in the West Michigan area. We live in Grand Rapids and are having difficulty finding properties that fit our requirements price wise so we started thinking about branching out to Big Rapids or Kalamazoo. Does anyone invest in either of these areas? If so, what are the pros/cons of each area?

Thank you for any responses. 

Hello Jordan! Welcome to BP! You can still do very well in Grand Rapids, but you have to be working with the right agent who has access to properties that might not be on the MLS or who is very knowledgeable of the market and can help you reach your goals with a sound strategy. I'm a listing agent for HUD, REO Companies and Kent County Land Bank tax foreclosures and I have access to these properties and can help you find what you need. Feel free to contact me if I can be of help.

As far as lower priced properties, the Muskegon Market is still quite depressed in some areas and can return very nice profits.   I'm seeing very nice Cap Rates over there and picking up a nice 3 bedroom home under $30,000 is quite easy.

That would be great! We're feeling a bit sad with the inventory we've seen in Grand Rapids. 

K-Zoo Has SO MUCH potential I feel it is a market that alot of investors are moving to. hop on zillow and look at what is for rent and what is for sale in that area! I love the Edison area and the revitalization that is going on. Jump on board before its too late.

Hi, @Jordan Puffer .  I invest in Kalamazoo.  I also work in GR a couple of times a week.  If you'd like to meet for coffee to discuss the Kzoo area let me know!