Note clarification..

7 Replies

Hi everyone.. I'm a newbie, still getting my footing in RE. I am interested in purchasing performing and non performing notes.

example: on 1st position Lein

Priced at 15,000.00

original balance of 30,800.00

Principle of 28,299.00

Estimated value of 65,000.00

Payment amount 432.00

Note rate of 12.70%

Here is my question. If I pay the full price of $15,000.00 the property is free and clear, I am free to attempt to Reestablished the note, foreclose, sale (if there are no tenants residing on the property)? 

Will I be required to pay the remaining amount of the note? 

Could I do "keys for cash" ?

Thanks for your wisdom!! 

The property is not free & clear.  You are buying the mortgage, the instrument which is a lien on the property.  A lien means the property is not free & clear.  

The note is not un-established, therefore not needing to be 'reestablished'.  The note is not being paid on.  You likely mean "reinstated", which is bring a loan account out of default.  

Judging by the small reduction in principal, I would venture to say there is not much hope for reinstating the borrower.  That said, further details could prove that theory wrong but I doubt it.  

Could you do "Cash for Keys"?  Yes.  IF you can make contact with the borrower and IF you can get the borrower to sign the deed to you.  No small task in some cases. 

It has the looks of a private loan gone wrong.  There could be additional risks and issues not portrayed completely in your post.  

Is it a first position?

is it private like Dion stated?

If not its sub prime.. Low value properties and notes like these trade at pretty low bid prices. I am not he expert on these as Dion is.. but I would say your probably want to get a lot more information before you pull the trigger .

Medium ksqoekox 400x400Jay Hinrichs, TurnKey-Reviews.com | Podcast Guest on Show #222

Oops I see its first position.