Insurance Question as note holder

7 Replies

Hi All,

I received an email from my servicer the other day saying that my borrower would like to file an insurance claim for a leaky roof. This brought many questions to mind real quick. In further discussion with my servicer, the borrower appears to be under the impression that I had placed insurance on the property, which I never have.

Looking through my records from the purchase/due diligence I have a copy of a "Homeowners Policy" in the borrower's name and address. I can also previous lender/servicer was collecting insurance payment through escrow, would this be indicative of placed insurance? I've never used placed insurance so not sure.  I don't however, have anything actually saying that the previous lender actually took out the policy.

I feel like this might be a big deal, but I'm a newbie so please go easy on me.

Thanks.

James

First of all, a leaky roof is not as bad as a house burning down. So, that's a good thing. What servicer is it? Some servicers will automatically place forced place insurance on the loan if the borrower does not have their own (after the proper letter cycle). Whether or not the loan is being escrowed for insurance is not indicative one way or the other as to whether this is for FPI or the borrower's own policy. If your servicer is coming to you about an insurance claim, that likely means the servicer thinks you may have FPI in place. I would call your servicer. Is the loan currently being escrowed for insurance? 

Thanks for the reply @Jamie Bateman . My servicer is Madison, though it was previously at August. I never had FPI on it, at least not by my order. I believe only taxes are being escrowed currently.

How does FPI work exactly? Is it something I would need to go find or does Madison provide that kind of service? I assume it would probably be escrowed at the borrower's expense? Also imagine, it might be cheaper for borrower to pursue his own policy?