Good Charlotte Locations?

13 Replies | Charlotte, North Carolina

Looking for opinions on where to look next for buying property to BRRRR in the Charlotte area. I am just getting started and have one class B in far north Charlotte now.

A decent amount of influential people have stopped buying in general, regardless of location. Considering Charlotte prices have skyrocketed recently, I would strongly suggest that whereever you find your deal, make sure to stress-test the financials. Best of luck to you though. I have just moved to the area and have little knowledge of neighborhoods. 

Hello, we've been looking for a BRRRR in Charlotte for quite some time. I run my numbers very conservatively, and haven't found much for 2 reasons - 1, the rent ratios are really tough in Charlotte. For example, many of the investment properties sell for 115-120k and then require more money to make them rent for a decent amount - and might rent for 900-1000. If it's in a profitable and upcoming area (let's say plaza area), typically it will be listed for under 100k and sell for WAY over that in a bidding war within a few days. And these are homes that need a complete overhaul most of the time. If you are a cash buyer and have an awesome contractor team then maybe it's worth exploring. Personally I think the profit margins just aren't there.

All major markets are tight for deals.  The cycle has been long.  Having said that @Richard G. , while I would wonder why you are wedded to Charlotte, I would not just shut the lights off and go home.   Understand that it is just going to be a hard market to buy for cash flow.  I might suggest that you would benefit from focusing more on expanding your network than finding a property and you might find that the former will serve the latter.  Good luck