Considering Tulsa to buy a rental property

17 Replies | Tulsa, Oklahoma

Hello All,

I live in California and am considering buying an investment property in Tulsa. While a simple search on Zillow/Realtor shows several properties in Jenks, Bixby and Owasso (those three areas came up as safe with good schools) that meet my cash flow criteria, I'm hoping to get local investors' take on the rental market outlook and if there are any specific areas to avoid. Any info you could share is much appreciated!

-Pavan.

Hey Pavan! Id love to help ya out! Im born and raised here in Tulsa, live in Broken Arrow and have siblings who live in Bixby and Owasso! Jenks, Bixby, and Owasso are all great places to look into. They are growing fast and are generally safe places with the better school systems. Im pretty new to the investment community so I haven't gotten much of a chance to analyze any properties so I couldnt give you the average rent or anything, but as far as being a local, youre definitely in the right areas! If there's any questions that you have about the areas, or need someone to go lo ok k at a house and take pictures or anything, please feel free to message me at anytime! Best of luck!

Claremore is a great suburb market as well because they have RSU there. I just sold 3 units in claremore that needed about 30k in work for 85k and my client plans to rent it all for $1800 per month. I would be careful of the 61st and peoria area in tulsa and north of pine st tends to have a bit more skeptisim as well from my investor friends. That being said I know people that have rentals up there and do well but they have a hands on management approach. I really like around downtown tulsa because that is where I believe the path of progress is and it tends to have good Cap rates.