Buying in Bahrain?

10 Replies

Hello BP, I'm new to BP and I'm going to be stationed in Bahrain soon. I would really like to take advantage of any REI opportunities while I'm there and not have to rent. Has anybody here ever bought any properties in Bahrain or does anybody know of someone who can help me purchase one there?

@Rene Benitez - Bad bad bad idea. You're better off buying a home in Detroit, MI.

Thanks Justin, Why is it such a bad idea?

@Rene Benitez - Its a country that you are not a citizen of. Nor do you have any family or connections there. What are you going to do when someone squats in your property and you are back in the US? How are you going to communicate with realtors, attorneys, etc. How are they going to get your money? I actually can't think of a single positive. Why don't you invest in the states? There are SO many opportunities here.....

terrible idea.  just save your money and buy here. 

OK thanks for the advice. The only reason I was considering that is because I will be renting when I move out there for up to 3 years so I was thinking about buying and then selling when it's time move out in order to keep some of the money I put into living there instead of paying for someone else's investment.

Does aor allow you to buy. I would talk to you housing office there.  I was stationed there in 2010.  Met my wife there.  

I did look into starting a business there.  All I ever heard is that you needed a citizen sponsor there.  he will want the lions share of everything.  I quickly learned that Bahrain is for Bahrainis.  Ask immigrant workers.

Im sure there is some sort of SOPA agreement that conflicts with your idea.  I vote bad idea, I think you could have made a killing with military members though.

I'm currently living in Bahrain as a US expat.  Foreigners are allowed to own real estate in certain areas in Bahrain as stated in the link below from the Bahrain Ministry of Industry.

http://www.moic.gov.bh/En/MoIC%20Centers/BahrainIn...