Getting started in Seattle area

30 Replies | Seattle, Washington

Hello Bigger Pockets Seattle! I'm a recent college grad who just moved to Seattle to start a new job and I've been doing a lot of reading about real estate investing lately. I'd like to try my hand at it but I'm both new to the idea of investing and new to the area so I'm not sure what the best place to start would be. I've heard that it is difficult to cash flow in Seattle (and tenant laws can be troublesome) but it's more feasible in surrounding areas. I've also read that Seattle is a great place for appreciation but even the cheapest properties I've seen in the city are 400K+ and it makes me nervous to start with that expensive of a purchase since I don't have any experience yet. I suppose I'm essentially looking for advice on what you would do if you were a brand new investor looking to get started in Seattle/surrounding areas. I'd also be happy to network with anybody interested in sharing some of their knowledge -- the more I can learn, the better! Thanks in advance!

Hey Kyle:

I'd love to chat with you! I was in your exact shoes last summer (and also live in Seattle). Three properties later, I'm having a great time and learning a ton along the way!

Best,

Dylan

Hey Kyle, I'm in a similar boat! Just moved to Seattle about a year ago. I've been saving a lot of money and would love to get into real estate outside of the Seattle area. I'm torn between looking back where my parents live (Midwest) and looking in more remote areas in Washington! I'd love to connect with you. 

Dylan: I'd love to hear about your journey so far as well! I'll shoot you both a message. 

Seattle is great, but don’t discount the appreciation and growth happening north up the I-5 corridor. I’ll send you a message and we can chat about areas you might like to look.