RogueInvestor.com Worth it?

10 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I am new to bigger pockets and real estate investing in general. I listed to a podcast by Ross Budrakey about Tax Liens and I want to start buying tax liens right away. I was considering buying a 2 year subscription to rougeinvestor.com ($147). Can anyone vouch for this site? Is it worth it?

Thanks,

Hobie King

@Hobart King While I am not an advocate of gurus charge huge fees for their programs, $147 does not sound like an absurd amount of money.  At some point as an investor, you have to be willing to take some risk.  A quick glance at the website tells me there may be some valuable information there for you.  But you can find books on tax lien investing on Amazon too.  You need to start somewhere.

Larry,

Thanks for the reply. You can actually download the first 8 chapters from Amazon of Michael Williams book (He runs rogueinvestor.com) and it's great! Lots of detailed examples and what to expect at an auction. I am probably going to do it and I will let everyone know how it goes!

-Hobie

Ned's Rule of Gurus

The quality of a real estate investing program in inversely proportional to the price.

Some of the best stuff is relatively inexpensive. Some of the most expensive programs are crap. As REI stuff goes this is on the low end of the price scale so it's probably pretty good.

@Hobart King Back in the 90's, in the early days of ebay (before they even went public), I bought a used guru course on tax liens. I had already bought liens locally in the late 1980's, but I wanted to learn about other states. Also, by buying used, I wasn't subjected to the calls from the course company trying to sell me more expensive upgrades. The main thing I got from the course was all the county offices in the country that held tax lien certificate and tax deed sales. Plus I bought the course for something like $25 instead of the $200-$300 original cost.

@Ned Cary - That's an awesome rule.