Best Books to Read...

8 Replies

Im a NOOB to REI, and Im in college with a fresh brain so can you all post which books helped you the most and gave you the highest quality information?

Also tell me your favorites, Im currently reading Rich Dad Poor Dad, should be done in a few days...

I'm new to RE investing, but have been reading up on creating wealth for at least 8 years now. I've worked on Wall Street as an I-Banker and studied business as an undergrad.

I have to admit that I was a big fan of "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" -- it opened my eyes in terms of how to think about wealth. However, I've come to learn that not everything Kiyosaki says is right nor is it necessarily the right path for everyone. So make sure you use your own judgment when reading his book. He's in the business of selling finance and self-help books, not RE investing, despite his claims.

With that being said, I recommend you read:

1) The Richest Man In Babylon
2) Think and Grow Rich
3) The Automatic Millionaire by David Bach
4) Financing Secrets of a Millionaire Investor by William Bronchick
5) Flipping Properties by William Bronchick
6) Beating the Street by Peter Lynch
7) The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham

These seven books will give you the right mindset about wealth, tell you the "how" of creating wealth, give you the basics of RE investing/flipping, and let you understand that any investment instrument on Wall Street beyond boring, low-cost index funds is a waste of your hard earned dollars. Value investing and index funds are the best ways to grow wealth over the long-term.

Everything else (i.e., the advance topics and other specifics) you can learn on the Internet (BiggerPockets.com, answers.Yahoo.com, WikiPedia, Investopedia.com, etc.) so don't bother spending more money on any other courses or books. Everything else is just a rehash of the principles taught in these seven books.

Forgot to mention one more book: The Millionaire Next Door.