Washington DC/Maryland Market

35 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I’m just starting out (haven’t yet bought a property) but I’m preparing myself to purchase within the next year or two. I currently live in Boston and the market here is too expensive and I don’t plan on being here too much longer.

I’ve gone to DC many times in the past year and so far it’s my favorite city, I’m hoping to move there soon and I’m interested in what areas are good to look at. I know with the city slowly changing, the recommended areas may change by the time I’m ready to buy. But I’m interested in house hacking and rental properties particularly in multi families and 2-4 unit buildings. Does anyone have any suggestions of what areas to look at and what websites would be useful to look at properties in DC?

Thanks,

Olivia

All depends on where you work and what lifestyle you prefer, and price range. Montgomery County, Northern Virginia, DC proper, and PG county all have some great areas to live.

Thanks for your reply Russell. Do you have any suggestions of where I can look at potential properties online just to see what’s out there? I’m 24 and I would prefer to be in/closer to the city but I wouldn’t mind living in a residential area either. 

Zillow is always a good place to browse. Info can lag the market a few days, but thats not a big deal if you are not actively shopping.

Just to warn you, DC is just about or more expensive to live compared to Boston. If your looking to move to a lower cost of living, DC is not your best choice. However, average and median income is higher in DC too. There’s very few 2-4 units in the DC area as a lot of people ask about them. Russell is probably the foremost expert in DC real estate on BP. You’ll get a ton of knowledge about the DC metro area by looking through his posts.

I prefer looking at listings through realtor.com.  Listings on zillow are delayed but realtor.com usually are not delayed.