Long Beach, NY - New to this market and would love your input

3 Replies | Long Island, New York

Hello, I am new to the Long Beach, NY market and I am looking at this market both in terms of a primary residence and an investment opportunity. 

I have noticed a number of duplexes and triplexes on the market and am considering a house-hack approach.

My questions: 

What are some of the pitfalls with owning in Long Beach, NY generally and owning rentals? 

Are there any special assessments / local taxes/fees to be weary of from Sandy or in general?

What sub-markets in Long Beach are most recommended (Lido, northshore, southshore, close to train, does it matter?) 

I'd love any of your thoughts / opinions on the market! 

Thanks,

Colin

Hi Colin,

Don't know too much about the area from an investor standpoint, but I do know this...

• Be aware of what's required with flood insurance here. Premiums look to be very high.
  • Sub-markets - Not too sure, but have you driven through the area? Take a ride through the area and get a better feel. Many of the bars/restaurants are on W Beech St with some of the hottest multi-families on the state named streets that run perpendicular.

Hope this helps some. Feel free to reach out to me.

Hi Colin, 

I'm not an investor in Long Beach, but I grew up on Long Island and my girlfriend was a former teacher at Long Beach Public schools. Here's what we know:

-There's only a few bridges to get in and out of Long Beach, which means that traffic gets really bad during rush hour. The train is a great way to get in and out of Long Beach, and I know a number of people who do the hour commute into downtown. 

-I would think that rentals closer to the train station would attract higher quality tenants that work in the city. Long Beach is a mix of working class people and 'young professionals' that enjoy the beach and bars there.