cross-referencing my spreadsheet with MLS

11 Replies

Being a Realtor I can't solicit properties that are already listed. I can input individual addresses in the MLS to see if they're listed but when you get to hundreds/thousands of addresses you need to cross reference, that's not so doable.

Any ideas?

Try focusing on expired listings only? They are no longer listed. Where are you getting your list of thousands from? I thought it was relatively easy to work the MLS to get the same types of lists.

Originally posted by @Steven J. :

Try focusing on expired listings only? They are no longer listed. Where are you getting your list of thousands from? I thought it was relatively easy to work the MLS to get the same types of lists.

My average letter run is about 1000 give or take, between initial mailer and followups. Listsource is $0.08 per address, at those prices 1000 addresses is pretty inexpensive. 

How many follow ups are you doing? And what's your marketing material? Letter and postcards, zip letters?

@Clayton P.

I don't have a great answer for your question regarding cross-referencing with the MLS. What I would suggest, and is something that my company does with some of its mailers, is to include verbiage at the bottom of a letter or postcard that says something to the effect of "If your home is already listed or you are working with a Realtor, please disregard."

You have probably heard it on radio ads for brokers before. To protect yourself simply include some verbiage along the line of "If your home is currently listed with another agent, this is not a solicitation of that listing." And you could continue to say "If so please disregard this letter" 

Hope this helps!