Scranton Contractor Referrals

12 Replies

New Scranton multi-family investor here, about to start fixing up a condemned property. I’m seeking referrals for your best local, licensed, competent, reasonable: roofer, electrician, plumber, carpenter, drywaller, housepainter, remodeling contractor, and property manager. I have (some from BP posts) a couple of some of these but I think I need to have three of each to do my job right.  Thank you for sharing your good people with me!

@Thomas C Veatch

How big of a property? Are you buying the materials or do you want your contractors to do it? 

Property manager wise, talk to @Marc Winter

Disclaimer: While I’m an attorney licensed to practice in PA, I’m not your attorney. What I wrote above does not create an attorney/client relationship between us. I wrote the above for informational purposes. Do not rely on it for legal advice. Always consult with your attorney before you rely on the above information.

Hi Chris, 

Thanks for posting.

The property is 4 units.  T&M (contract amounts to be based on time and materials) at least until we get the scope nailed down from the city inspectors.  

I’ll call Marc.  

Hi Thomas,

Congrats on your new purchase.  Before you start interviewing contractors and lining up crews, I recommend you verify the legitimacy of your 4 unit.  I don't know if you're familiar with Scranton's condemnation policy but often times, properties will revert back to the original zoning.   There have been a lot of out of town investors burned by this and I would hate to see it happen to you.  

Also, contractors in Scranton have to have a city license as well as a state license.  Anything over 2 units is considered a commercial property, so you will need to be looking for GC's even if it's just to change a window.  It isn't easy to find contractors but you can start by getting a list of city licensed contractors and then narrowing your search from there.  Best wishes on your new endeavor.