Votes
Charles Chiu
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
Does this make sense ?

Charles Chiu
  • Houston, TX
Posted May 27 2023, 14:41

Hi I am a newbie to BRRR and I am looking at a potential first deal. Here are the numbers and the way i think of it. I would love to hear your opinions. Thanks in advanced.

purchase price: 150k
rehab estimate: 180-200k
ARV: 360-400k
rent estimate 2,880
loan interest rate: 7.25%
cash flow: $100 / month

Based on the analysis i did, the monthly cash flow would be somewhere around 100 bucks if I manage the property myself and very thin on reserve and potential vacancy. 

i think there are 3 potential risks I can identify.

1. ARV may not be as expected
2. Rent may not be as expected
3. Have a good chunk of cash locked in the property after taking out 75% of ARV

However, there are also positive factors:

1. There could potentially be 50+k equity gain
2. IF (and a big IF) interest rate goes down in the next 12-24 months, cash flow can be better after refinance

This is my first potential BRRR project and am a bit nervous because of the amount of rehab required.
Just want to know if there is any major pitfall in the logic above.
Thank you! Thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Taj Akinbode
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Investor-Friendly Agent| Serving Houston, TX - And Surrounding Areas
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Investor-Friendly Agent| Serving Houston, TX - And Surrounding Areas
Replied May 27 2023, 15:22

Where are you getting your ARV and rental comps data from? It's crucial that these figures are accurate.

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Postell
Lender
Pro Member
#1 Creative Real Estate Financing Contributor
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Votes |
Lender
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Fort Worth, TX
Replied May 27 2023, 18:26

@Charles Chiu this is good to post these things.  There are several things for you to consider here:

1. How will you acquire the property?  If you need a loan, how much of a loan will you receive on your BUY step?