Rental Arbitrage Property search in the Houston area

17 Replies

Hi everyone,

My name is Dominique, and I am new to the real estate business. I live in Houston, TX, and I plan on starting in the short term rental hosting business. I am currently searching for a property to rent and sublease on Airbnb and other short term rental sites (rental arbitrage). I have done a lot of research here on bigger pockets and have analyzed the market. I am currently searching in the Spring area near the airport, the woodlands, Splashtown, and hospitals nearby. Right now, I am having trouble finding a property. I have reached out to a few property managers but to no avail. I am not sure how to find owners themselves to pitch to. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions specific to this market? Any info is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Hi Dominique! Welcome to Bigger Pockets. It's great to hear about your plans for pursuing rental arbitrage in the Houston area. I can't speak from experience, but--if you haven't done so already--perhaps consider diving deep into for-rent postings on Craigslist, Apartments.com, Trulia, Hotpads, and other similar sites. The postings created by a property management company will likely include the property management company's information in the description (they may even have their name watermarked on all of the listing photos). Listings created by the owners who self-manage are likely to be less formulaic.

With regards to opportunities specific to Houston, consider local for sale Facebook groups and classified ads from the local newspapers and websites (perhaps the Houston Chronicle and the Houston Press have relevant listings). It may even be worth posting a detailed ad of what you're looking for and proposing in the "Apts/Housing" section of Craigslist and then reposting this every few days or each week. Your post may resonate with someone who is in the process of listing a traditional rental but who had never previously considered arbitrage.