What to do with land?

8 Replies

Aloha Everyone,

I own land and I am new to the real estate game. Can any of my fellow BP mentors lend some advice on how to start generated a income stream from raw land? I am eager to from you. Thanks

Jason

Raw land isn't going to generate any income, by definition. It's raw. It has to be improved, somehow.

Questions to ask yourself and get answers to, before you'll get any meaningful answers from the forum or your local real estate community:

-How large is the tract/parcel?
-What is the current zoning? What is the zoning environment (that is, can it be easily rezoned, and if so, what are the other options)?
-How much can you personally spend to improve the land? This could be as little as clearing the land of brush, to having it professionally graded/leveled, to having municipal services (utilities/roads) brought to the site.
-Are you looking to keep the land indefinitely, or sell for the right price?

I'm sure there are a few I'm leaving out, but getting good answers to these questions will very quickly narrow the possibilities for your land, and what you can expect of it.

@Account Closed thanks for the info. I am looking into what would be the highest and best use of this land.

@Leon D. thank you as well. The characteristics of the parcel that I have is unique. I own 3 acres of a 6 acre parcel that a business partner and I split. The parcel is located on the edge of a residential area and also zoned residential. It has streams and riparian zones which are off limits for building. The last developer/owner had approved permits and plans to build four 10,000 sqft parcels, 2 of the parcels are on my half of the property. It is a beautiful piece of property in a quiet area on the Oregon Coast.