If You Could Move Anywhere...

14 Replies

Hi Guys - 

I'm brand new to real estate investing, but have the opportunity to move to (almost) anywhere in the country next summer -- or stay put in Newark, NJ. My goal is to buy our first multi family (live in one unit, rent out the rest) by then, and was wondering what the best markets for this would be. We love Denver and California, but I don't yet know that much about those markets for buy-and-hold investing. What do you guys think? If you could start your real estate investing anywhere right now, where would you go? 

Thanks!

Travis

I live in Denver and love it!  The buy-and-hold market is a little more challenging here than in other areas of the country.  Even with great rental rates here, the purchase prices are high enough to make it a challenge to find good cash flow opportunities.  

It's not as difficult as one would think to invest out of state, so personally, we wouldn't move to a different state just to be in a place where it would be easier to invest in buy-and-hold properties.  However, for argument's sake, if we had to choose a place that was a good market for investors and live there too, I would probably choose either the Dallas/FW area or Atlanta.  

@Travis Grossi  - I don't think either of those locations make the top 10 list for cash on cash returns. Also CA is a big state. 

My advise to those who ask this is always, pick where you want to live and invest there. I think it's well documented that Denver is over priced as are many areas of CA. Move there, get to know the market, buy right and enjoy.

Thanks @Jeremy Baker ! I wanted to be close to our first couple of investments, just so I feel comfortable with the whole process before attempting to do it from out of state. I like the climate in both Atlanta and Dallas -- any reason why you'd recommend those though?