20% down payment deal analysis

8 Replies

Hi everyone,

I'm thinking about purchasing a small 1,000-1,100 square-feet single family house for $150,000.  I'm going with the 20% ($30.000) down payment and finance the rest through a bank.  The estimate rent is $1,100 per month.  Property tax in the area is 1% of the sale price I think.  After all expenses such as mortgage, property taxes, insurance, etc. would this be a good deal if my aim is 10% cash-on-cash return?  

I'm new at this and it would be my first purchase.  Thanks!

Other information:  The property is located in Sacramento and/or Elk Grove, CA.

@Henry Le  

Need more information Henry.

What are repair costs? After Repair Value? What is interest rate from bank? Amortization Period? What are monthly expenses? Insurance Costs? Any other expenses?

Then we can check it out.

Hope this helps.

Happy Investing!

If I understand your numbers properly, the 10% = $3000 annually or $250 / month BEFORE maintenance, vacancy, and management fees.  These are real costs and should be considered.  I don't know the area, but 8%,8%, and 10% of monthly rents respectively is a decent guess.  That would total $286 and you'd be in the hole $36 / month over the long run.  If you plan to manage yourself, you might do a little better, but you have to account for your time and a PITA factor.  

I'd consider looking for something else.  

Henry,

I have many properties there.  You will not make any money and be lucky if you don't lose any.  Assuming management at 8%, which is standard from the few local companies, 8% for repair reserve, 8% vacancy, which may be a little high, insurance at $700/yr and property taxes, which are more towards 1.25% for Sac.  With a mortgage at 5% a payment would be roughly $644.  That would leave you with approximately $8.48 profit per month, if you don't manage it yourself.

Originally posted by @Erik Hitzelberger: