First Flip Advice

9 Replies

Hello! I'm not new to the forum but I'm new to flipping houses. 

Good news though, I have decided to flip my first house shortly and I wouldn't mind if you guys ran my numbers/ gave me some advise just to make sure I'm not doing this wrong. 

So here are the details I have so far. I am trying to flip a HomePath house where the renovation cost is included in the initial loan.

House info: 2 bed, 1 Bath, 800 sqft - Light renovation needed (floors, paint, clean up, maybe move a wall, some appliances)
House Cost - $43K
Renovation Cost ~ $15K (Max I can borrow for renovation)
Down Payment ~ $11K
Total loan ~ $47K

Looking to sell within 30 days of holding the property for around $75K (that is what the comps are going for)
Looking at a $12K to $18K profit {75K - (47K+11K) = 17K}

I don't have the exact loan details yet nor the exact renovation cost. I'm estimating $15K

Any advise or warning would be greatly appreciated. I'll try to keep this post updated with what is going on with our first flip.

Thanks!

Don't forget to factor in all of the holding costs of your loan. They'll eat up that $17K pretty quick!

Originally posted by @Matt Swartzendruber:

Don't forget to factor in all of the holding costs of your loan. They'll eat up that $17K pretty quick!

I thought about that. If I can only hold it for under a month I hope those holding cost will be manageable. Estimating under 1K for 30 days

If you want to sell fast, price well below market.  Don't get greedy with flips.  Making $3K - $6K on each flip will keep you in the game and you build a reputation among buyers as the place they can get a good deal from.  That's the best way to build a solid reputation and buyer's list.  Buy, light fixing, then flip it immediately and move on to the next one.  Always aim to have another deal in process so you can avoid the "feast or famine" roller coaster ride most investors suffer from.  Hope this helps.

Originally posted by @Annette Hibbler: