Need Advice on a possible deal - Please Read :)

5 Replies

Hey BP,

I have two questions regarding a deal that I am looking into. 

1). The owner who is looking to sell is using the property as a rental and he is sick of being a land lord. If the tenants are still in their lease would I have to wait until the lease was over before I could evict the tenants or ask them to move out? Or are they protected by the current lease even if ownership changes?

2). I noticed when looking up the property tax info that the evaluation has gone done over the last 3 years. Is this due to market changes or could it be from the condition of the house getting worse due to the tenants not taking care of it or both?

On another note the seller says he would be willing to do a contract for deed on the property. Would it make sense to take a contract for deed and just wait until the tenants lease was up and then either rehab it or pass it on to another investor to rehab it then?

Hi Blake,

I am a newbie in the business but I can give you my opinion:

1- the tenants are protected by their lease and as a new owner, you are not obligated to renew their lease (most lease agreements have provisions that state that).

2- Who really cares about the tax value? You should be concerned about the market value in the area. I wish my tax value can go down so i can pay less money to Uncle Sam. Have an agent pull up some Comps and give you the estimated value based on the current condition of your deal. 

The contract for deed sounds sweet but do your homework and make sure there is no liens.

I am hoping some members here will give you more detailed advice. 

Good luck with your deal and keep us posted

Thanks 

Thanks @Angele Socho 

That's kind of what I was thinking about the tenant situation but I have never dealt with this before so I though I should ask and see what I can find out.