New to real estate. Analysis help. Maine

9 Replies

I am new to investing. I am 21.  I have some money saved up I want to invest and am interested in real estate. I am searching for pros and cons on multi family or single family. Also new or used since I have some land here I could build on. My home town is growing quite quickly and is turning into quite a tourist hot spot. It also has good rent demand. From what I understand this would be a good location buy in. I have looked at a few just to get my feet wet. This is one that stands out to me. Any advice on any numbers I may have missed would be great. Also If this looks like a decent deal.

The asking price is 135,000 but I have already decided 135,000 would not make sense. I am wondering if 100,000 would. Its a 3 bed 2 bath. finished basement with 2 rooms in the basement listed as bonus and office. It doesn't need any work.

Expenses (monthly)

Taxes= 67              

insurance= 67

HOA= 90

7% vacancy= 77

5% repairs= 55

total= 355

I would like some pros and cons on cash or finance also. I can do cash or finance. But personally don't see the advantage to cash. After going over all the numbers I will get a lot better return on MY money invested if I financed it with 20k down. Correct me if i'm wrong.

expenses with financing (monthly)

Mortgage= 429

total expense + mortgage= 784

Rent (monthly)

Rent=1100 

net cash flow= 745 (if paid in cash)

cap rate= 8.9%

cash on cash= 15% (if financed at 5% with 20k down and 5k closing costs)

This is my first time doing this so any advice would be great. Any numbers i've missed please tell me and if this seems like a good deal. If not why not and what should I look for in the future. Thanks a lot!

@Jacob Knowles welcome to bigger pockets

I would also include a percentage for CapEx for future major expenses (roof, boiler, ac)

And it would be wise to include a percentage for property management even if you manage it your self.