Analysis Tool & TurnKey Company numbers?

10 Replies

Hello BP Community,

I'm considering buying a Turnkey property and have a question about inputing numbers into the "Rental Properties Calculator" here on BP. The information given by this company has the following information listed: Sales price, rent, gross yield, net yield, gross revenue, tax, insurance, management fees, maintainance, and NOI. There are different names that don't match up listed on the BP calculator from the information given by the Turnkey company. I'm still learning how to interpret the data and curious if this is how you'd evaluate a Turnkey property? Is there another way you recommend checking the numbers listed by Turnkey companies. --- Lastly, I understand this is a tool and may not reflect reality in the real world. Should I contact a realtor in the area and ask for recently sold homes, market values, comps etc? Do you recommend other websites like Trulia, Realtor, Craiglist or others? Please don't be critical of my question and I thank you for your feedback. Josh

I definitely wouldn't worry about Trulia and those right now. 

As far as the calculator and the given numbers...what specifically are you trying to evaluate that isn't provided by the turnkey provider? What are you looking for from the calculator that isn't given there? (I'm not familiar with that calculator to know what it gives...my company has it's own)

If you want to shoot over numbers with descriptions, I'd be happy to interpret for you. I've always bought turnkeys myself and have built calculators and such.

@Josh Koett

Some of the things you listed like gross/net yield, NOI are calculations. The data needed to calculate your return on investment in the BP calculator or any other calculator are price, gross rents, taxes, insurance, management, maintenance, utilities, vacancy, ect.

Thank you Ali and Brie,