Account Closed
  • Cave Creek, AZ
Votes |
Financial Freedom and Success

Account Closed
  • Cave Creek, AZ
Posted Dec 29 2016, 10:08

Hello everyone,

First I would like to say BiggerPockets is awesome! I stumbled opon this website one day while looking up realestate investment strategies and have been lurking for 7 months or so before deciding to make my first post.....to say the least I am in need of advice with a game plan I am working on.

BACKGROUND

I am a mechanical engineering student at my university and happened to get my foot in the door for the oil and gas industry specifically one of the largest refiners in the US. Me and my parents have set up an agreement that as long as I excel academically my expenses in school will be taken care of.

Because of this I have an excess amount of cash saved up 23k right now from a previous internship and on schedule to make another 48k from my next co-op with the company. I am 20 years old. Upon graduation (22 years old) I will have ~90k saved up cash.

I listen to a man who's name is Grant Cardone he is a real estate mogul who has 400M in real estate holdings and he tells his listeners to go big (nothing below 16 units for the first deal) because of the added benefit of having room for property management and economy of scale. I know he is not very popular here but what he says and his energy speaks to me personally.

In regards to my geographic location I will be located in the midwest after graduation. I have been reading alot of books on real estate investment and am very confident in my ability to analyse a property and calculate all the important investment ratios, however I am no expert and will need to look at atleast 100 more deals.

The Game Plan

I currently have two game plans I am looking into....so I will list them both and then ask my question

Plan #1

• 90k upon graduation saved up (co-ops) (Starting salary 95k)
  • Saving 40% of income 38k a year saved
  • Work 7 years (contributing min to 401k)