Votes
Jason Sterling
  • Marlboro, NJ
Votes |
Buy..Rehab..Rent .. Need advice

Jason Sterling
  • Marlboro, NJ
Posted Apr 2 2017, 04:54

Posted this in another forum but maybe this is the right forum? If not apologies! 

All,

with a quick background, I am new to REI. I promised myself that I would purchase my first investment property in 2017, and have really started to sharpen the axe if you will. With that being said, I really wanted an affordable entry real estate, and was looking at possible rentals in the areas near me that offered a decent price, with a keen eye towards a multi family unit.

With that being said, a foreclosure popped up (multi family) and is set to go to auction in a few days. I went yesterday to see the property, and brought my uncle who was very handy to see if he noticed things I did not. Essentially I believe this property could be had for cheap, and I firmly believe there is usually more value in something ugly, as most are turned off to the opportunity bc it could be too much work. I have looked at comps in the area.. and rents as well in the likely event I want to rent this out. The rents seem attractive but I can't get a firm handle on the value - #1 it needs work, and #2 the comps are other multi families that have different qualities.