Rental properties seem worse than traditional investments

110 Replies

As an excited newbie, I have very little experience in real estate investing so at a meeting with my financial planner I asked about house hacking as a busy professional and he stated it would be a bad idea.  This took me down from cloud 9 real estate guru excitement.  It made me really face the fact that maybe a fiduciary fee-only financial planner with 30 years of experience has some wisdom. So I thought a lot, listened to tons of BP podcasts, read forum posts, analyzed several deals, and thought of worst case and best case scenarios.  It seems that for someone who doesn't want to work an additional job that real estate investing is a bad idea and here is why... 

I think that in order to be a successful real estate investor you have to take it on as at least a part-time job putting in 10-20 hours a week to maintain an informational advantage and run the day to day of the business.  It is absolutely a business and is not hands off like other investments hence the higher returns.  We cannot predict life or the market and when you factor in time invested and the risk of the entire cash flow of a property being wiped out overnight with the wrong tenant or just a bad year for the property, it makes it much less attractive.  Some would say stocks are risky as well but if you look at things like index funds over 20 to 30 years; a 7-10% annual return for sitting on your couch certainly has me second guessing how much I would like to pour into real estate investing.