Leverage vs. Cash buy? Novice Investor

22 Replies

My primary goal is to acquire more properties quickly from either refinance or heloc from existing properties. I have roughly 50K right now to invest and I am looking into 2 different turnkey providers, Morris Invest and PARC. I can purchase potentially 2 houses with PARC while putting down 20-25%, but will only be able to purchase 1 with Morris invest. The ROI is going to be very close either direction. Any recommendations for a newby or things I should consider? In terms of housing quality, PARC seems to have higher end properties (B class), and Morris Invest is primarily (C class).

@Justin: what market or cities are you considering?

I have no experience with those turnkey providers, but suggest you use your money and knowledge to invest locally if at all possible.  Create a solid network and leverage based on your comfort level.  The more properties, equity, and rents that you can collect; the easier it should be if you have a hiccup in your operations.  When you invest in turnkey providers, I would imagine that they are inflating the numbers on the purchase price, repairs, or management fees. 

I suggest @Justin C Huggins that you leverage your money. Go through the process of meeting with lenders you'll learn a lot...and you can do more. You'll get recommendations for insurance companies, agents, etc. 

And you can diversify...do not tie all of your money up in one deal. 

Onwards!

sjw

Originally posted by @Justin C Huggins :