First property analysis - first step before approaching an agent

12 Replies

Hello everyone, 

I found a property that seems good to me. This is my first time attempting to do anything real estate related. So I was hoping to share with all of you and gain some advice and perspective on whether this is a promising flip. I have the trulia link as well, not sure if I’m allowed to do that. But I copied the link in the bottom for anyone wanted to take a look. 

I'm considering doing the "70% rule" with this flip. I know it's not a set rule, but it seems to fit with this home. The median price ARV for this home I believe is 105-130 (I looked at the surrounding homes) and I'm thinking 25-30k (as an estimate, to be on the safe side) in repairs.

https://www.trulia.com/p/ma/springfield/16-emily-st-springfield-ma-01109--2000301088

Thank you all for your advice! 

yea thats a good bet...   the house is 1912, maybe check out the big ticket items --- foundation, floorboards, Hvac, windows, roof .     make sure wood is not rotting near tub or toilet.   

What are you basing your repair estimate off of?  Have you taken any bids from contractors on similar jobs and compared item cost?  If you haven't you should probably do that to get a more accurate grasp of costs in your market.  

Here I can get tile laid for prices that are untouchable in some markets.  

@Jeremy England I have not done any bids yet. I was thinking this step would be done around the inspection. Have them come in at the same time and get an estimate around that time. Is that how it would go? Or do you have another recommendation? Thanks. 

Originally posted by @Teynna Garcia :

@Jeremy England I have not done any bids yet. I was thinking this step would be done around the inspection. Have them come in at the same time and get an estimate around that time. Is that how it would go? Or do you have another recommendation? Thanks. 

My advice would be get some specific numbers on some type of specific specs.