Wholesaling question

5 Replies

friends,

I am new to wholesaling and I'm working on securing my first deal in the state of massachusetts. I noticed that almost all of the properties in the MLS say that they want "proof of funds" or a "proof of funds" letter submitted with any offer. Since I am trying to get started in wholesaling or assigning the contract, how would i tackle this problem? How would this work if im only assigning the property to a cash buyer? Is there a way around this if possible? any help would be appreciated.

Clary

Clary,

For all MLS listings, you'll need to provide Proof of Funds (POF) to validate you can purchase the home for "all cash".

Can you partner with someone on this deal that has more experience and has POFs? Alternately, can you work with a hard money lender in your area to get the funds?

I suggest you tackle this deal (if it truly is one) with a more experienced investor. You can find those in your local REIA.

On another note, do you have a good amount of earnest money to put up (e.g.: $1K-5K)? If not, you won't get serious interest from the seller and their agent.

Note: If you are working with FSBOs this won't probably be an issue - at least in my experience in WA state.

HTH!

You can search online and find some various funders and transactional funding lenders that will just have an online form that generates a POF letter for you. Now you should be confident you will be able to find a buyer, but this is a pretty easy way to get the piece of paper that is required that I have never seen anyone actually verify.

I have no need for shenanigans for this, but I typically use these since I don't want to bug my actual lender 30 times a week to give me a letter.

Promotion
Guaranteed Rate
Guaranteed Rate is a top mortgage lender
Save $1,290 on your next home – no lender fee*
Get special perks like $1,290 in lender fee savings when you buy a second home with Guaranteed Rate.
Apply Now