Need a good core website

13 Replies

Any recommendations for a good core website that will come optimized (SEO)? I have recently heard of a company called investor carrot that supposed to bring in so pretty good leads. Anyone have any experience with them? It runs $30+ a month.

@Javon Dixon I used investor carrot until recently. I had their package that gives you three sites for $50/mo. It is good for the purpose of getting a site up with content quickly but some of it needs to be changed ASAP. When they first set it up, I had George Harrison quotes as testimonials. Really, it's running on WordPress and for $5 per month you can get a host that will host WordPress and it is pretty easy to set up and configure yourself and there is a lot of free information online about that.

I'm a developer by trade myself, and am currently offering small projects for free and larger ones pretty cheap in order to rebuild my portfolio and get back into freelancing. Feel free to contact me if you need assistance.

@Barry Marshall Thanks for the info. I have some squeeze pages hosted with ipage.com. They do have wordpress sites and templates I can purchase. Im more concerned with the SEO. I had an ecommerce website before and it took a lot to get it ranked. I heard that investor carrot sites seem to be ranked pretty good and for you as a developer to use them for a while, it would seem that they may be good for my short term needs

@Javon Dixon They are definitely great for short term needs. That's what I used them for myself. I didn't have any problems with the service while I had it. The site wasn't automatically in place as soon as I signed up but it was ready in about two days. The sites were ranked pretty well and I didn't have to spend much time messing with SEO to make that happen.

Hey Javon! Hope you've had a great 2014 so far!