How to or how not to work with a Realtor in wholesaling

40 Replies

Hello, I was wondering what the realities are if you find a property that an agent is working on and you think you can get a good deal on it by wholesaling. Does this bother most agents that you would try to wholesale the property, or are they generally okay with it as long as they still receive their commission? I am a newbie at wholesaling and birddogging so any advice on this would be very helpful,

Thanks,

I would recommend taking another route.

Well I'm not actually in that situation right now but just wanting to learn how to handle it if it comes up. I know the best deals to find are gonna most likely be FSBO type deals, at least from what I know so far lol, but if it does come up are there certain ways of handling that work best?

Just my opinion but if a realtor has it listed I would move on to another off market deal.

It can be done and it's not impossible by any means but it isn't the ideal situation.

I have used a realtor to sell a property and list it on MLS after I had it under contract. I did find value in that.

When you find a property that's listed with an agent, it's already been exposed to 10-100 times as many people as you would expose it to. The chances of you finding a buyer for a higher price than could be gotten off of MLS is slim, unless you have some ignorant buyers. For this reason, an informed agent will know what you're trying to do, and convince his seller that it's a waste of time contracting with you, which it is.

Yeah, that makes total sense in only using an agent to help sell the property.  The only scenario is see it happening on the front end where you are getting the property under contract may be if you know the realtor personally and then maybe something comes up, but other than that I think finding another way is probably best, thanks