Needing insight on how to find properties,foreclosures

7 Replies

Hi, I am new to this business and have been trying to get into wholesaling before I try anything else. I am curious is to how to find a lot of the properties when they are fresh? I know a lot of people that do this in my area and they get the good deals..I know a lot of it is experience but I am needing some info. I have trulia downloaded and check craigslist and other obvious avenues. Thank you for any input.

Welcome to wholesaling Zach!  It's good that you're taking action.  Do you have any money for a marketing budget?  If so then you could do a direct mail campaign to absentee owners & put out bandit signs (know your codes though).

If you are doing this on a shoestring then search the free sites, Craigslist, Backpage etc...

Good luck 

@Zach H.  

As @Roland Paicely  said, if you have a marketing budget then you can send out yellow letters or postcards to a targeted list. You could also drive for dollars, taking down the addresses of vacant properties in an area that you would like to target and pursue those leads. There are a variety of different strategies that can be used to find leads, just keep reading through the forums on the site and you should get lots of information about this. I am wholesaling in the  South Chicago and surrounding suburbs myself, so if I can provide any help just reach out.

@Zach H.   there are a ton of ways to find deals. There are lots of threads here so do a search. I believe there is a blog post of 101 ways to find deals (something like that)

Here are a few

• pre foreclosure 
  • foreclosure auction
  • REO
  • Vacant houses
  • Tax default properties
  • estates
  • code violations
  • direct mail

Good luck - Ned