Wholesaling

17 Replies

I am a new investor looking to receive some sound advice on the "wholesale" process, I have heard there are 2 basic methods. One is to simply "assign" the contract during escrow and the other is to do a double closing ?? Obviously I have done neither but want to feel comfortable with my approach especially as a new kid in town, well, not really a kid, I am a retired police officer getting into the REI business. Thanks

Not totally sure what your question is, but you have it right. By assigning you are on the hud statement similar you a realtor commission (not much cash out of pocket). By double closing you'll need the funds to close and you'll be both seller and buyer.

Hey Kid,

Before worrying about double closing or assigning contracts.  I'd recommend focusing on getting seller and buyer leads.  Read as much as you can.  Ask as many questions as possible.  But start at the beginning.  Get leads, talk to sellers, talk to buyers, get a deal signed then determine if it best to assign or double close.

good luck

A question about wholesaling.  When you get a contract on a property:

1) How far out should the closing be scheduled?

2) Specifically (esp. Texas) how can you include contingencies in the contract so that if you can't find someone to assign to you are not STUCK with obligation to buy yourself?

3) Whats to keep an investor you share the details with from just waiting until the contract is  terminated then going straight to the seller themselves?

@Wayne Igo I am a complete newbie, but I've done a good amount of research on your first question. From what I have read you should set the closing between 7-30 days and find a cash buyer that is willing to buy the contract. 

Originally posted by @Wayne Igo :

A question about wholesaling.  When you get a contract on a property:

1) How far out should the closing be scheduled?