Accessing the value & making an offer

15 Replies

Hello Guys, 

I'm a newbie wholesaler starting in Burlington County NJ. I sent out a few letters from a probate list and got a call back within 2 days. I set up an appointment to see the home and went on Friday. Zillo stated the ARV was 99k. Seller said she had it appraised a few months ago for 86k "but the appraiser was a friend and didn't write anything on paper". The property has roof damage and a few cosmetics issues. I'm not good at accessing the repair value, but another wholesaler said I should offer between 26 & 35k after I told him it was 1420 sq ft. I told the seller I would call a contractor to give me a repair estimate so I can give her an offer.

Please help!

You can use redfin.com to gauge values for the area. What are your plans for the house? If you wholesale it, you will need to be 65 to 70% of ARV minus repairs. If you are rehabbing or holding you could be less conservative on your percentages. If your on zillow check solds for the last six months in the area as well as the ones listed.

@Antoine Nelson  

@Calvin Fluker  is right about using these free online resources to check comps (recently sold like properties in that area). Redfin is the primary tool I use as a wholesaler---if they have it in your area be sure to use their "Price Home" feature. This lets you see what properties have sold nearby, and where. 

Also, familiarize yourself with their "map nearby homes" feature. 

If not Redfin, I think Zillow has similar capabilities you'll just have to play around with it to figure out how to check comps. 

One key thing about seeing the comps: make sure the comps are properties that have been fully renovated inside. This is the true ARV.

If they haven't been renovated at all, this is more of an as-is market value. 

The lowest comps that haven't been renovated are often properties bought up by investors, so this is the range that you need to be SELLING at to investor buyers.