absentee owner mailing

10 Replies

Around 2 weeks ago I did my first mailing to absentee owners. I was very specific in my criteria and only sent to 100 owners (will do more in coming weeks) I am a real estate agent and was not seeing anything good on mls (shocker) and I am actually looking to buy for myself as rental properties, so I figured I could give decent offers.  

Well so far 3 callers, none especially motivated, all looking for considerably more than I would be willing to offer. I had casual, pleasant,15 min. conversations with each of them, all resulting in that they should list w/an agent. (I do mention at that point that I am also an agent, and while thats is not the intentions of my marketing I would be more than happy to help them sell)

I know its a small sample size, but these sellers all thought they could be patient and get more in this current market.

I am just wondering, as a first time marketer to absentees, is it typical that most responses are non motivated looking for top dollar (aka agents) do the motivated sellers only surface after multiple mailings?

I have been mailing to absentee owners for about four months now, a total of about 2300 mail pieces.  We made about 150 offers and closed one deal.  Not great numbers. We are continuing to mail around 1500 pieces every 6 weeks or so, many to the same owners we have already mailed to, as I have read and heard the same thing, that you need to touch them at least 4-5 times.  Motivation requires a change in your life situation, and that may not happen over a period of just a few months.