How do I get paid for bringing a buyer?

10 Replies

So I might be closing on my first deal today.  I called a bandit sign and introduced myself to the wholesaler.  I told him I'm new in this business but knowledgeable and I'm looking to grow my network and possibly partner up on some deals.  He had one. I told my buyer about it and negotiated.  He's buying at 90k but there's no room for me to buy cheaper and reassign it at 90k. I know we unofficially partnered up and it should be a 50/50 split by bringing a buyer but I know that won't happen. 

I still don't know what he has it under contract for but my guess is 70k max 80k.  What would be a fair cut for me?

How should I approach him about this?

Don't want to sound overconfident but I don't want to get taken advantage of either. 

Your help is greatly appreciated.

If he is willing to share his commission then he could assign the contract to you for less than 90, and you could assign the contract again for 90. That way everyone gets their share.

Colin Smith, Real Estate Agent in CO (#ER.100052152)
719-232-6709
Originally posted by @Colin Smith :

If he is willing to share his commission then he could assign the contract to you for less than 90, and you could assign the contract again for 90. That way everyone gets their share.

Now let's say he does assign it at 85k, is it that simple to assign it again to a third person?

That would be a better question for a RE attorney in CA. That contract could get a little complicated and may need to be written up a little differently. 

Colin Smith, Real Estate Agent in CO (#ER.100052152)
719-232-6709
Originally posted by @Colin Smith :

That would be a better question for a RE attorney in CA. That contract could get a little complicated and may need to be written up a little differently. 

Yeah I figured.  Thanks for the quick response.