My offer was WAY less than others! How?

12 Replies

So, I'm pretty new at this wholesaling thing....actually, I've only done research and learning and never quite made an offer.... Well, I decided today that I needed to. I new that the seller wouldn't accept my offer, and I knew it would be much lower than he wanted. But, I did it anyways just to help me get over my fear of making offers. 

So here's how I broke it down: 

$260,000 ARV - 70% - $5000 est. repairs

I told him I could probably go anywhere from $165K-$180K just based off the numbers from my research WITHOUT seeing it. He said that people have offered $235K and he still said that was low but mine was the lowest offer he's received. 

Anyways, I'm wondering how my numbers are so off compared to the other investor numbers? Is the market really that hot that investors are offering 90% of the ARV? Maybe my comparables are off by over $100K?

Is this a property off the MLS or somewhere else? Could they have been owner occupant offers?

And you will get used to having offers rejected, I promise this won't be the last time!

Yes, that has been my experience. I recently found a home nearby that another flipper abandon during mid flip for whatever reason. It needed 100k in repairs and I offered 150k less than the ARV because it cannot be easily financed so I didn't expect too much competition. To my surprise someone paid 50K less than the ARV price.

I found another good deal last week where a house and warehouse were being sold on adjoining lots. It was a good deal, not great but good, but sure enough it was bid up way over asking price.

It seems like a lot of people are relying on price appreciation and willing to take some risks that maybe you and I are not. But I think its worth it to remain patient and stick to the strategy of buy low sell high, not buy high and hope to sell higher!

Originally posted by @Stephanie Goodman :